Skip to content

Calling the Shots – The Epic Comeback Edition

June 6, 2013

Things were looking a bit bleak on the predictions front recently with my running score sinking faster and faster to the 50% mark that would have prompted me to give up. But a really rather excellent may (including a good night at UFC 160 which saw me pick 4 out of 5 right) has dragged me back to) 43/76 or 56.57%. The 60% target is in my sights again, so here’s my picks for June’s two cards which see the UFC return to Brazil and Canada.

UFC on Fuel TV 10

In the main event two Brazilian grappling aces clash in their home country, but I kinda think this fight is going to be decided by the striking. As much as I love Antonio Rodrigo Nogueria I can’t help but think his best days are in the past, and his opponent Fabrico Werdum is a fellow I’m expecting to see fight for the title before the end of the year.  Werdum is in a different league to Big Nog’s last two victims (Brendan Schaub and Dave Herman) and I see him using his ever improving muay thai to take home a (T)KO victory.  Now, as for the rest of the main card (well, the main card according to Wikipedia anyway, the TV broadcast for these Fuel shows never seems to match the fights advertised), my picks are as follows:

Rafael Cavalcante beats Thiago Silva by decision

Daniel Sarafian beats Eddie Mendez by decision

Erick Silva beats Jason High by (T)KO

Rony Jason beats Mike Wilkinson by decision

I’m not making a pick for the TUF finale match as I haven’t been watching the show and don’t know either fighter from Adam – at least that’s one fight I can watch without being nervous over the outcome!

UFC 161

So, onto the injury-marred Canadian card, which will be headlined by a three-round affair between Dan Henderson and Rashad Evans following the cancellation of the Bantamweight title match. I’m not expecting a particularly exciting match here.  Sure, if Hendo lands clean then Rashad will find himself out cold and making another funny face for the camera (see the Lyoto Machida fight) but I just don’t see it happening. Rashad will use his speed and wrestling to exploit Henderson’s questionable takedown defence and win a somewhat tame decision.  The rest of the main card has some potentially better scraps however, and I’m expecting a couple of good knockouts here:

Roy Nelson beats Stipe Miocic by (T)KO

Ryan Jimmo beats Igor Pokraiac via (T)KO

Alexis Davis beats Rosi Sexton by decision (it pains me to pick against Rosi, but I just think she’s undersized for this division)

Pat Barry beats Shawn Jordan by (T)KO

That’s me done for June – hopefully that percentage will continue to creep up and Calling the Shots will be back next month to welcome Anderson ‘The Spider’ Silva back to the octagon, as the number one pound for pound fighter in the world takes on hot prospect Chris Weidman.  Now that’s one I’m really, really looking forward to.

From → MMA

2 Comments
  1. Just watched the Brazil show, and it was jolly good fun. Lots of good submissions, which I always like to see. And my picks were good too – I didn’t get a single method right but got 4 winners out of 5, leaving me on 47/81 – 58.02%! Another good weekend in Canada could see me finally break 60%.

  2. 3 out of 5 at 161 (method correct in 2 of those) leaves me on 50/86 – 58.13%. So close…

Leave a Reply

