Skip to content

Farewell to the Monster Master

May 7, 2013

I’ve just heard the sad news that Ray Harryhausen, the master of monsters, the king of creatures, passed away today.

I’ve waffled on at length on here about my obsession with the Creature Feature on here before (See Oh No, There Goes Tokyo) and I can safely say that the works of Mr Harryhausen were a driving force behind that obsession.  For me, the films he worked on are still classics worth watching today, and have a charm that all the fancy-dan CGI we’re exposed to these days lacks. I watched Clash of the Titans with my kids a few weeks ago, and they loved it as much as I did when I was a young ‘un (especially good old Bubo the Mecha-Owl).

So Mr Harryhausen, I’d like to say thank you.  Thank you for Talos, The Medusa, the Kraken, The Troglodyte, The Minoton, The Cyclops, The Skeletons, Bubo, Calibos, The Scorpions…  thanks for everything.

The world of cinema has lost a true pioneer today.  We shall not see his like again.

From → Musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

