Skip to content

Self Indulgent Navel Gazing

April 5, 2013

At the start of the year I decided I’d be all focused and organised, and so set myself some blog and writing goals (laid out in this previous post here).  In order to keep my motivation up I thought I’d have a look to see how I’m getting on with those goals as the first quarter of the end comes to a close. So, if you’ll indulge me, it’s time for a bit of introspection and reflection as I muse upon where I began, where I find myself now, the journey in between and other bollocks like that.

The goals were as follows:

In the year of 2013 I’ll me making at least 36 Blog entries, not including  MMA/UFC predictions.

To be on track for this one I should have done 9 entries so far, and as it happens I’ve knocked out 10 that count. I have a a very specific and idiosyncratic method of deciding what counts and what doesn’t count, so even though I’ve got 28 posts on here only 15 of them are actual blog posts in my head.  Weird classification habits aside, the main thing is I’m nicely on track here. I still have a slight fear I’ll run out of things to write about by August though…

Of those 36 entries, at least 6 will be some kind of creative writing – a short story, an excerpt from a longer piece or whatever

Well, I’ve managed one so far – I stuck chapter 3 of Wyrm Cast on here a few weeks back.  I’ve got a few things lined up though, and will be sticking a poor orphaned short story that I can’t find a home for up in the next week or two.

Get at least 1,000 views this year.

So to be on target for this I’d need to be on 250 views by the end of March.  And as it happens I was actually on about 790 odd. Which is nice.  Hopefully a percentage of those views translated into actual reads and enjoyments, but even if they didn’t it’s a nice big number  and everyone knows big numbers are cool.

I will carry on with (and finish) the first draft of Wyrm Cast.  by the end of Q1 2013.

Yeah, this didn’t happen.  And in hindsight it was pretty wishful thinking whichever way you look at it.  I’m plugging on with the first draft but it ain’t nowhere near finished. But then getting it finished fast should never have been the goal – getting it finished good should have always been the plan.  So I’ll push on and get it done – it’ll be nice if the first draft is in the bag by the end of the year but I won’t beat myself up if it isn’t.

I will go back and bloody well edit what I write and make it better. 

I have been doing this a bit.  It’s not exactly laugh-a-minute excitement and fun, but I’d like to think it’s making a difference.  But as much as I’ve been given it a go I need to do it more.  And more.  And more.  If I don’t, nothings going to get any better after all.

I’ll get some motherfucking short stories written. 

I did it! I overcame my inability to write something short without waffling on forever! It might be a bit rubbish but I managed it!  I’m still finding it tricky to get to grips with endings and the like, but practice makes perfect, right? Or if not perfect. probably less terrible. I hope.

And finally, before the year is out I am committing to submitting something to a publisher of some sort

I did write something with the intention of submitting it to British Sci-fi magazine Starburst, but alas after reading the submission guidelines it turns out I was barking up the wrong tree with that one.  But the way I see it the fact that I was willing to give it a go is progress.  The year is still young yet, and I’ve got a couple of things I’m working on that I could potentially chuck out there. There’ll still be plenty of chances for me to get horribly rejected yet!

So all in all things are more or less going to plan thus far.  One slight fly in the ointment is that a change in my employment arrangements mean I’ll have to re-arrange my writing habits.  My new office is considerably closer to home, which at first I thought would be a good thing until I clicked that I would lose my writing-on-the-train time. Also the new place doesn’t have an internet cafe type place like my old office – I used to rely on such a place to write blog posts and type up my badly scrawled train-notes on my lunch hour.  So without these two things I guess I’ll have to organise my time better or I’ll end up getting nothing done.

Will I manage it? I guess we’ll find out in June when my half-year progress review rolls around.

From → Musings

2 Comments
  1. Its great that you have some goals, its the only way to guage if you are accomplishing anything. Before you write and self-release a fiction novel/book/ebook, I think it is important to write short stories and get them published in places. Having an editor/publisher reject your work many times, and trying to overcome that, builds a great writer. It will also build a base of readers to sell your book to. Just remember you will get more rejections than exceptances – it doesn’t mean the story is not good – tweak it, edit it, resend it to a different publication.

    • Thanks for the advice. I certainly do find having goals a good motivation, and I’d like to think I’m a bit closer to getting my head round the short story thing now, if not quite there yet.

      Now I just need to find someone who’d be interested in publishing a slightly humorous 1,500 zombie apocalypse short story and I can have a go at submitting something…

Leave a Reply

