Skip to content

Calling the Shots – Kung Fu International Edition

February 25, 2013

This month the UFC goes globetrotting with cards in Japan and Canada (and then to Sweden next month as it happens) and I’m really looking forward to both shows.  There’s some fascinating match-ups here, and I’m expecting some cracking fights. Fingers crossed this will be the month I finally get my success rate over 60% – that barrier has thus far proved more elusive than a greased-up Lyoto Machida on a rocket-powered moped, but after the last two shows I’m so very nearly there.  Fingers crossed.

UFC on Fuel TV 8

Firstly we visit the Siatama Super Arena in Japan, with a card featuring a couple of guys who are extremely popular in the Land of Rising Sun.  Sadly I think those  icons will have a bad night,  particularly the one in the main event.  Wanderlei Silva’s best days are long gone, and while pairing him up with a fellow aggressive striker suits him to an extent I just don’t think he has enough of a chin left to come out on top – take the Chris Leben fight, for instance.  Therefore I’m picking Brian Stann to beat Wanderlei Silva by (T)KO.

According to the UFC website we have a generous five fights on the undercard, which I’m calling as follows:

Stefan Struve beats Mark Hunt by submission

Diego Sanchez beats Takanori Gomi by decision

Hector Lombard beats Yushin Okami by (T)KO

Mizuto Hirota beats Rani Yahya by decision

Dong Hyun Kim beats Siyar Bahadurzada by decision

UFC 158

On to Canada for UFC 158, and once again we find the Welterweight champ Georges St-Pierre fighting in his backyard. While Nick Diaz’s combination of high-volume striking and slick BJJ seems like the perfect combination to dethrone the long reigning 170lb champion I think GSP will still pull off the win with his usual blend of athleticism, wrestling and smothering top control.  St-Pierre’s comeback against Carlos Condit in the third round of their recent clash shows me he’s got the heart to overcome adversity as well. While Diaz can certainly give him a good fight and probably a few scares, I’m still picking Georges St-Pierre to beat Nick Diaz by decision.

As for the rest of the card, I’m expecting the fights to go thusly:

Carlos Condit beats Johny Hendricks by decision

Jake Ellenberger beats Nate Marquardt by decision

Nick Ring beats Chris Camozzi by (T)KO

Colin Fletcher beats Mike Ricci by submission

I admit I’m probably a bit biased in picking Fletcher to win as he’s a local lad, and I can’t help but pick Sunderland based fighters. I’ve trained with him in the past too, and he’s a genuinely nice bloke with some of the nastiest chokes I’ve experienced.  Hopefully he can get those rope-like arms around Ricci’s neck come UFC 158.

Enjoy the fights!

From → MMA

One Comment
  1. Well that didn’t go very well, did it? While I’m chuffed that Hunt and Silva got big impressive wins in Japan it doesn’t do my figures any favours. In fact I only got two out of six right last night (correct method for both though) which puts me on 21 out of 38, a rather poor 55.26%. I’ll need a clean sweep of 5 for 5 next week if I’m going to salvage my attempt to get to 60%. On the plus side I’ve picked the correct method in 13 of my 19 predictions where I got the right winner, a not too shabby 68.42%.

Leave a Reply

