Skip to content

Calling The Shots – So Long Strikeforce Edition

January 11, 2013

I only normally do prediction posts for the bigger UFC events, but I thought I’d do one for this weekends Strikeforce show for two reasons. Firstly, it’s Strikeforce’s last show and this is my own little way of saying goodbye to a fine promotion.  Secondly, the match-making for this event seems to be more about providing some big stars a platform to show off before they transfer to the UFC (assuming Barnett can work out his issues with Dana and that Mousasi’s management doesn’t play silly buggers of course).  While upsets are a feature of MMA – Serra / St Pierre, anyone? – I honestly think the only challenge in calling these fights is picking the method, so hopefully this is a chance for me to bounce back from my terrible UFC 155 predictions.

Nate Marquardt beats Tarec Saffiedine by (T)KO

Daniel Cormier beats Dion Staring by (T)KO

Josh Barnett beats Nandor Guelmino by submission

Gegard Mousasi beats Mike Kyle by decision

Ronaldo Souza beats Ed Herman by decision

I look forward to a night of remarkable upsets proving me spectacularly wrong yet again. Before I go I’d like to say well done to fellow blogger Austinp2012 – you can find his blog here – as his mathematical predicto-matic machine got UFC 155 almost spot on.  I’m not ready to embrace technology over gut feeling just yet, but that was impressive.

From → MMA

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

