Skip to content

A Flock of Geas

January 3, 2013

2013, it would seem, is upon us. And unfortunately I’m going to use that as an excuse for doing a bit of a typical end-of-year-looking-forward-to-a-new-one type blog post, as a cunning way to hide the fact that I haven’t got my arse in gear to write anything else. I’ve neglected the blog somewhat over the last few weeks what with Christmas getting in the way – with my only post being my (spectacularly inaccurate) UFC 155 predictions – so I’m going to take this opportunity to regroup, plan ahead and set myself some goals. I don’t like to think of them as New Years resolutions, to be honest – I’ll be making plenty of them which are no doubt very similar to everyone elses, the usual things such as losing weight, learning Esperanto, showering occasionally and so on, and I don’t think people are that interested in hearing about that kind of thing. Instead I’m thinking of it as putting some things place specifically regarding this here blog and my writing stuff in general, at a time that just happens to be early January. While I’m not quite nuts enough to embark on one of those trillion word challenges, I do think having at least some kind of defined goals will a useful motivational tool. And if they’re written down I’ll hopefully feel more obliged to stick to them, hence the really quite terrible geas pun in the title (Geas/Geese? Geddit?). So here they are, split into sections about the blog itself and the writing thing as a whole.
1) As regards the blog. The plan is as follows:

a) in the year of 2013 I’ll me making at least 36 Blog entries, not including this one or MMA/UFC predictions. This means three per month, which I think is more than reasonable.

b) Of those 36 entries, at least 6 will be some kind of creative writing – a short story, an excerpt from a longer piece or whatever. So that’s one every two months, which I would also say is eminently achievable.

c) This ones a selfish little stat-based goal – I’m aiming to get at least 1,000 views this year. I got about 250 or there abouts in the last two months, so again I don’t think that’s anything too outrageous. It does make me feel like some kind of dirty sell out for even thinking in those terms, however. But looking at those bloody WordPress stats is damnably addictive.

2) As regards the whole creative writing lark, the specific goals pertaining to that are:

a) I will carry on with (and finish) the first draft of Wyrm Cast. If I may indulge in a little business speak, the goal is to deliver this by the end of Q1 2013. Though I could live with it being by end of Q2, I’m going to be driving to get it done before the end of March as from April I’ll be working much closer to home. While this is a good thing in many ways it does also mean I’ll no longer have the train commute in which to write, so I’d like to get as much of the first go as possible done before then. As it happens I’m hoping to have chapter 3 (the last one I’ll stick up here) on next week, and to have the other two re-written a bit soon as well.

b) I will go back and bloody well edit what I write and make it better. This is currently something I find extremely hard to do, as all to often after reading back through a bit of my work I’ll start to dismiss it as rubbish and want to throw it out and start again. I now recognise this is just me trying to avoid doing the work editing and finding an excuse to not finish things to the point where I need to show them to other people. This has to stop. If I think something is rubbish then I will work at making it better.

c) I’ll get some motherfucking short stories written. I’ll have to crack that nut at some point this year to realistically achieve point 1B above, and crack it I shall. With a sledge-hammer if need be.

d) And finally, before the year is out I am committing to submitting something to a publisher of some sort, as it seems I feel the need to be laughed at by a commissioning editor for some reason. What exactly that will be and to which publisher I have no idea. I’m going to keep an eye on things like open submission anthologies or similar and if I see one with a theme that takes me fancy I’ll give it a shot. After all, I have to start the process of rejected at some point. Apparently you’re not a proper writer until you can moan about being rejected while things like Twilight and 50 Shades of Grey are being published. At least that’s my understanding of how it works anyway.

So that’s that. Goals for 2013 all written down and everything which means I can’t hide from them now. Well, not unless I delete this blog. Which would be pretty simple to do, admittedly. But that’s beside the point. When I think about 36 entries is pretty daunting – that’s 36 topics to come up with that people might want to read, though I do have a couple of ideas bubbling away. I’m considering posts about the works of Edgar Rice Burroughs, the ‘Bronze Age’ of Marvel Comics, the evolution of MMA and a piece about the current popularity of the vampire in popular culture which has the provisional title of Fuck Off You Sparkly Bastard.
OK, that last one isn’t really something I was considering. Though it would be a shame to waste that title…

From → Musings

3 Comments
  1. Good and worthy goals, my friend. I shall be one of those keeping an eye so we can keep you at hitting them 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Self Indulgent Navel Gazing | Monkey's Blood

Leave a Reply

