Skip to content

Calling the Shots – UFC 155 Edition

December 21, 2012

Whoops.  Just realised that I forgot to do a blog post yesterday.  What with Christmas and that I don’t have time to do anything proper so I’ll just chuck some predictions out for the UFC end of year show and resume normal service next week.  So here goes

Junior Dos Santos beats Cain Velasquez by KO.  The flash KO in the first fight didn’t tell us a lot about how these two guys match up, but I think JDS has the takedown defence to give him the chance to land some good shots over the five rounds.  I wouldn’t say Cain has a glass jaw, but it certainly isn’t Roy Nelson-style concrete as Kongo (and JDS in the first fight) proved so I think he go out, likely in the second or third.

Jim Miller beats Joe Lauzon by decision

Tim Boetsch beats Constantinos Philippou by decision

Alan Belcher beats Yushin Okami by (T)KO

Chris Leben beats Derek Brunson by (T)KO

In my last round of predictions I got the winners right on two of the four fights, and got the method right in one of those two.  So I’m not exactly looking like a MMA genius or anything just yet, but just you wait. I’ll recapture the glory days of UFC 135 soon enough, were I got four out of five winners right and the method right on all four of them. AND called the right round for Jones to tap Rampage.  Fluke?  Maybe. Maybe not.  We’ll have a better idea of that come December 30th.

Oh, and good luck to Sunderland lad Phil De Fries who takes on Todd Duffee on the undercard.  With any luck Big Phil will be bringing one of Duffee’s arms back to the North East with him in the new year!

From → MMA

2 Comments
  1. You’re doing better than my math model. I’m really looking forward to seeing how Velasquez changes up the gameplan for his second shot against Dos Santos. Should be an interesting fight and I doubt it will go exactly the same as the first.

    • I think Cain will get him down but I think JDS is athletic enough to make it hard work and get back up again – he’s a different class to Bigfoot Silva. And then only needs one or two good shots and has five rounds to find them. Also I’m interested to see JDS use his BJJ. Win by triangle maybe?

Leave a Reply

