Skip to content

The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men

November 14, 2012

So, blogging then.  I’ve got a few ideas lined up for stuff to write about and I’m going to be aiming for one entry a week and try and make ’em count.  It looks like things will be pretty diverse – planned topics so far include Toho Movies, the evolution of the UFC and a board game review.  I’ve also set myself a little challenge to get an entry of 1,000 words or so of creative writing on here by the end of the year.

I do understand that this is not a good strategy for getting a blog read – it would be a much better idea to be focused on one topic to appeal to fans of said topic who may then become regular readers.  But that’s not what I’m here for, as I previously indicated.  There’s about 50 million blogs on the internet, and to be noticed amongst that kind of kefuffle one has to be either shouting louder or writing so much better than a heck of a lot of people.  I don’t have any interest in trying to do the former and I do not believe I have the ability to do the latter.

A friend of mine used to have a t-shirt with a witty slogan along the lines of ‘more people have read this shirt than have read your blog’, and I imagine in many cases that’s true for the reason I mentioned above and it will likely be true here.  And that’s why I’m doing this in order to get things written, rather than to get things read.  Make no mistake,  if someone does read this then that’s great – I’m chuffed you’ve taken the time to do so and would love you to leave some feedback if you don’t mind – but the important thing for me is that I’m taking the time to write stuff, and hopefully get better at writing stuff due to the practice.

Right then, that’s all my excuses for getting crap readership figures rather handily made in advance.  As long as nothing gans aglay then there should be some actual content on here next week.  I bet you can’t wait.

From → Musings

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

